Your Privacy Matters: We use our own and third-party cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to use the website we understand that you accept their use. Cookie Policy
UltraWebGrid using User Control in a RowEditTemplate
posted

Hi all,

I am new to the UltraWebGrid and need some assistance understanding how the grid interacts with a user control that is used as the RowEditTemplate. I have defined a very simple user control, for my testing, that contains a textbox, 2 dropdowns, and a checkbox. In the user control's Page_Load event I load the data for my drop downs.

I have also loaded the user control as a template and have associated the user control with the grid's RowEditTemplate.

When I double click on the row in the grid, the template comes up and my drop downs are populated, but not selected. My questions are:

1. I need to retrieve additional information from the database for the row that is being editted and add that data to the user control. What event can I use to do this? Would it be an event on the grid or on the user control? Can I access the grid's DataKey's from the user control?
  2. I need to populate the user control with the row that was selected. I see the columnKey attribute, but it only seems to work for controls of type textbox. How do I handle the checkbox and dropdown controls?
  3. Can I put validators on the user control, that can validate my user's input?

Is this documented anywhere?

Thanks

Parents
    Suggested Answer
    posted

The most important point I can mention here is that the row edit template of WebGrid essentially has no server-side presence.  The template is discarded and recreated on each postback.  The best reason that I can think of to make use of a user control for a row edit template is if you want to re-use the same template for multiple WebGrid instances.

sseelam said: